Chartered Accountancy- Different levels of Examination and S - Study24x7
Social learning Network

Default error msg


New to Study24x7 ? Join Now
Already have an account? Login

Chartered Accountancy- Different levels of Examination and Syllabus.

Updated on 26 October 2022
Professional Courses
7 min read 2 views
Updated on 26 October 2022

"All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them"

                                                -Walt Disney

We all know who Walt Disney is, the creator of the Disney company, one of the world's largest entertainment media companies. He rightly said that all our dreams could come true if we have the courage to pursue it. If you have the will power or determination to be successful in life following your desired dream you will surely be successful.

The subject which I'm going to talk to you about is CA Different levels of examination and it's overview.

We all know Chartered Accountancy is a professional course that is certified by ICAI which gives permission to handle any accounting services to the company or businesses legally.

A chartered accountant is considered to be one of the valuable bodies of the Indian economy and considered to be a prestigious job. But there is a lot of hard work, dedication and patience required for becoming a successful Chartered Accountant.

There are different levels of examination that should be given as per guidelines of ICAI:

  1. Foundation or Common Proficiency Test (CPT)
  2. Intermediate or Integrated Professional Competence Course(IPCC)
  3. Final course (FC)

1.Foundation or Common Proficiency Test (CPT):

  1. Students who are willing to start their CA programme after their 12th examination are eligible for giving the Foundation or CPT exam.

  1. Criteria: Students should pass their 12th examination with minimum 50% aggregate marks for commerce students and minimum 60% aggregate for the non-commerce students.

  1. Registration: Students need to register with the Board of studies (BoS) after appearing class 12th examination till June 30.

  1. Exam period: The exam is held during June and December every year.

  1. Paper pattern: There are a total of 4 papers in CPT. Each paper carries 100 marks with a time duration of 3 hours each paper. 

  1. Negative Marking scheme and 1/4th of the marks will be deducted only for paper 3 and 4.

  1. Students must score a minimum of 40% in each paper and a minimum 50% aggregate in all papers.

  1. Subjective papers are paper 1 and paper 2.

  1. Objective papers are paper 3 and paper 4 ( these have negative marking)

CA Syllabus of Foundation or CPT:

Paper 1: Principal and Practice of accounting ( 100 marks)

Paper 2: Business Law and Business Correspondence( 100 marks)

Paper 3: Business Mathematics, Logical Reasoning and Statistics(100 marks)

Paper 4: Business Economics and Commercial knowledge(100marks) 

2. Integrated Professional Competence Course(IPCC)

  1.   After clearing the CPT the next level of examination is IPCC. 

  1. A graduate or a postgraduate gets a direct entry for this examination there is no need to give CPT. 

  1. An IPCC examination is conducted twice a year once in May and another in November.

  1. Criteria: Graduates getting more than 55% of marks can appear for IPCC.

  1. Registration: A student can appear for IPCC after 8 months of having submitted the IPCC registration form.

  1. Syllabus: IPCC is divided into 2 groups which in total consist of 7 papers.

Group 1:

Paper 1: Accounting ( 100 marks)

Paper 2: Business law, Ethics and communication (100 marks)

Paper 3: Cost Accounting and Financial Management

Paper 4: Taxation

Group 2:

Paper 5: Advanced Accounting

Paper 6: Auditing and Assurance

Paper 7: Information Technology and Strategic management.

 Passing for each subject should be minimum 40% score and aggregate 50% for each group.


  1. After completing group 1 of IPCC the student is eligible to undergo an article ship for 3 years under a Chartered Accountant.
  2. A student who has cleared both the groups can undergo articleship with practical training.
  3. A student can appear for final CA examination after 2.5 years of articleship.

3.Final Course

  1. CA final is divided into 2 groups. Each group consists of 4 papers.
  2. Each paper contains 100 marks, from which you need to score a minimum of 40% of marks.
  3.  A student can appear for final CA examination after 2.5 years of articleship.

Group 1:

Paper 1: Financial Reporting(100 marks)

Paper 2: Strategic Financial Management(100 marks)

Paper 3: Advanced ethics (100 marks)

Paper 4: Corporate and Economic Laws(100 marks)

Group 2:

Paper 5: Strategic Cost Management and Performance Evaluation,(100 marks)

Paper 6: 6A: Risk Management (100 marks)

              6B: Financial Services and Capital Market (100 marks)

               6C: International Taxation (100 marks)

               6D: Economics Laws (100 marks)

               6E: Global Financial Reporting Standards(100 marks)

               6F: Multidisciplinary Case Study (100 marks)

Paper 7:Direct Tax Law and International Taxation (100 marks)

Paper 8:Indirect Tax Laws (100 marks)


Chartered Accountancy is one of the best accounting programs in India. It requires a lot of patience and hard work to achieve success in this course. If you have passion and dedication to be a Chartered accountant, you must surely go for it. Candidates are advised to check the CA Exam date and related details to get a better understanding of the exam. Good Luck!


Write a comment...
Related Posts